Using old clothes patterns


Beaux- quet. ( craft idea )

I have recently discovered the wonderful ” shabby- shick” look.
The old vintage wall papers and pattern papers. I’m in love with collage and using old vougue dress paterns in my art work.
Recently I painted this high heel shoe over a clothes pattern which I stuck to cardboard.


I also did a large painting of trees over butterick patterns stuck to a canvas.
You have to use spray glue on the surface first , then stick the patterns down and then gloss varnish the suface over the tissue paper. Once dry- this is a great back ground canvas to work off.


I have also used the beautiful tissue paper of clothes patterns to wrap gifts with.
A simple swing tag and hessian string or a silk bow around a gift wrapped in layers of vintage paterns looks gorgeous.
Place in a gift box or lovely gift bag ( now available from $2 in abundance) looks so stunning
I found this lovely tea cup print( below) on gift boxes for $1 -3 dollars. gifts can look so classey
With out having to cost you $20 to wrap.
I have even used the patern paper to make bithday cards.
A simple flower or the words ” happy birthday ” over the top looks amazing.
Also – scrunching up the pattern paper to protect a fragile gift looks good. Place in a box or gift bag.
Recently I taught an art class where the students did this idea to paint hot air baloons over a canvas.
Such a gorgeous look for little girls rooms.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beaux-quet

Leave a Reply

