Cheese short crust pastry Quiche


Beaux- tie ( cooking and entertaining)

This is a great recipe:
An ” oldie” from 20 years ago that my mum used to make.
I always loved it and I still make it now that i’m a mum.
I remember my mum had a friend named Joan who first made this quiche. It was so delicious and everyone loved it. But she would never give the recipe to any one.

Funny how people are like that some times. I think I owe it to the world to now circulate this ” secret” recipe. My mum eventually got the recipe by hook or by crook and both mum and I have great delight in handing it out. Needless to say- we have never seen or heard from Joan again and we have since moved from south Africa to new Zealand and now I live in Australia.
The famous recipe has followed us over the seas…. And served many a delicious meal.


The base:
1 and half cups Grated cheese
150g soft butter
1 and 1/3 cups flour

Rub this together in a large bowl and make a pastry


Press into a greased pie dish ( as I’m doing in above pic)
Place in the freezer for about an hour.


The quiche mixture:

4 eggs ( beaten)
1 cup milk
1 cup cheese grated
2 tsp baking powder
Herbs & spices to taste ( fresh corriander or basil and dash of whole grain mustard, salt and black pepper)
Chopped chives / shallots
Crushed garlic
Asparagus spears

Options: I often add bits of cooked chicken breast or bacon bits or whatever I have left over
Eg: bits of fetta cheese , roasted veges etc.

Mix all together and pour over frozen pastry.
Bake at 190 for 45 mins

Now is when I should have the fourth photo of the finished product. Especially since I’ve made it perfectly so many times.
And the one and only time I actually wanted to take a photo for my new blog- BANG!!! I burnt it. I nearly didn’t put this blog up as I didn’t have a final photo – but…. A quiche is a quiche….. It’s what it TASTES like!!!! That’s the key!!!

So please satisfy my personal vendetta and enjoy this recipe and feel free to pass it on to the world.
Maybe Joan will get it back ha ha. ( naughty me!!)

1 Comment

Filed under Beaux-tie

One response to “Cheese short crust pastry Quiche

  1. Just baked and damn its delish! And SSSOOO easy. Was scared about the pastry bit as I’m not a daft hand, but it was easy peasy! Now to go and finish the rest of my lunch.

Leave a Reply

