Sticky date pudding


Beaux – tie ( a recipe)

Quote: ” when you’ve had the worst day, there is something very comforting about coming home and cooking something delicious. And knowing if it’s laced with butter – it will taste fantastic…. You can rely on that. !!! ”

Watched a great movie last night with my husband. Pouring rain outside- cuddled up inside with a nice cuppa tea and a biscuit , heater on …… a good movie all about food!!!

Howz this for a day- woke up and noticed my 7 year olds gorgeous ,long, blonde , shiny, clean locks had nits.
I missed going to church – having masking tape in hand- search and stick the nit to the tape. ( good tip). She casually said- oh yes: my friend at school has them. I was ropable!!!!

Then we decided to go on a family trip ( and invite two extra kids) in the torential rain and catch the bus to go and watch a movie. ( big mistake)….
We got to the movies ( my daughter wearing a hat)…. Movie was sold out!!!!
Kids and I were gutted. Back on the bus…. Then locked out the house in the rain….

Back to the quote from the movie: – good to come home to some delicious comfort food. You can always rely on that at the end of a hard day. Needless to say: I’m eating and writing my blog:

I laughed about how this girl Julie decided to do a blog – like me, and how she wondered if any one was reading it and the list of similarities goes on- but she became famous and had a movie and books written about her blog…… Dreams are free!! Right.

Any way- great movie. And this inspired me to put up a great Beaux recipe.

Actually- I had forgotten about this gem and I have had several requests for it recently.
So decided to upload it.
This is a great winter recipe.
Either make it into a pudding with the butterscotch sauce. Or leave the sauce altogether and make it in a loaf tin and make it a simple:
Date loaf. Yummy:- sliced thickly and toasted for breakfast.

Another option is to replace the dates with bannana or berries. This makes a great loaf too. Very cost effective -Provided bananas are not $12.99 per kg as they are at the moment in Sydney because all the banana farms were wiped out up in Queensland recently.

Pre heat oven – 180 degrees

Soak dates in boiling water and tea spoon of bicarb for half an hour prior.

Date loaf recipe:

250g pitted dates
1 cup boiling water
1 tsp bicarbonate soda
1 1/2 Cups self raising flour
1/2 Cups sugar
90g melted Butter
2 eggs lightly beaten
1 tsp cinnamon ( optional)
Vanilla essence ( to taste)

Line loaf tin or oven dish with baking paper. Pour batter into tin.

Bake for 40 mins / till golden brown.
Prick with fork to check- cooked through.

Funny how some of the best recipes are the hand written ones ( you added) to the margin of the recipe book. Not the recipes in the actual recipe book.

If you are making sticky date pudding. Make the sauce to pour over cooked pudding ( above).

Butterscotch sauce:

100g butter
50 ml fresh cream
Vanilla essence ( or baileys)
1 cup brown sugar

Place in saucepan over medium heat oven and stir constantly until butter melted and sugar is dissolved.
Pour over hot sticky date pudding and serve with lashings of fresh cream. !!
Enjoy. It’s a winner.
Eat while watching good movie as suggested above.
No pictures on blog today. I’ve eaten it all. (Only joking.)

3 Comments

Filed under Beaux-tie

3 responses to “Sticky date pudding

  1. Oh Jo, that sounds like such a rough day! A pudding definitely a good idea after a day like that. And, having tasted your sticky date pudding myself, I’m very happy you’re sharing your delicious recipe. Hope today is a better day for you guys.

  2. Ruth

    My mouth is watering & tummy growling. Good thing there is no photo of finished product as I’m going so well on my diet & have lost 6kg in 6 weeks!
    Confession – I do miss carbs on a cold winter day though!!

  3. Wanted to let you know this recipe was an absolute winner with the family. And the best bit, we restrained ourselves and there will no be left-overs for tomorrow nights dessert. I KNOW….I can hear you asking “LEFTOVERS????” It was hard to resist!

Leave a Reply

