From waste to art


Beaux – peep ( home decorating ideas)


On Wednesday night I made it into the finalists for the Warringah Art Prize Competition. It was “Waste To Art” category. The old frame was in recycled rubbish at Marrickville. The wall papers I stuck on, were throw out papers from the warriwood wall paper shop ( recycled paper). I painted a rose over the top. I was stoked to just get into the comp as it’s so hard to make it in.
The opening night was stunning, even a red carpet, photographers and beautiful food, champagne etc.


This recycled vintage book ( above) was the winner. Peoples Choice Award is still to be announced. If any Sydney northern beaches blog readers are out and about in the next week and you are able to pop into art focus gallery in Brookvale, please pop a vote in for me. I would love to win $1250.

But the point of the blog is not about the art. I have done wallpaper collage in a previous blog.


I wanted to encourage my readers to use recycled things to decorate their homes. Pic above- is all recycled things in my home.
Mirror was a road side throw out. Actually it’s a mirror sliding door from a wardrobe. I took it from the road side throw out and had a frame put on it. But even without the frame, a big mirror in a room is good for creating the illusion of space and light.

I love vintage chairs. The mustard yellow one was an op shop find recently. As the old truck pulled up to the op shop I was in parking lot. I spied it at the back of the truck. It was love at first sight.


The little black draws were another road side throw out I found next to Narrabeen lake.


This little draw would also look good done in a shabby shick look with the distressed paint- see the green chair I did for edens room (previous blog). Paint over the black and sand back with sand paper.
Bird cage candle holder was a throw out score yesterday. Left over props from Jamie Durie show on tv. ( thanks to my friend Josie who arrived at my door with a massive box full of these and similar ones all for me to have). She said- ” Jo will do something with these”. Love that. Xxx


I placed the bird cage on the cake stand I used from the op shop. See scone recipe blog. The white base ” frames” the cage. Otherwise the black cage on black draws gets lost.


This is my new bathroom decoration. I have used an old ladder as a towel rail. Vase was $5 on freedom clearance sale. There’s my broken white platter I talked about in my last blog, the one I used under the Rapunzel cake. White kitchen platters are a great way to layer and frame vases. Give it a try.


Nice to make the bathroom a little more stylish.


I also used some old wooden boxes to roll up towels up and store toilet rolls.
So there you have it- some waste to art ( “art” of decorating). Good luck. Hope you find some great road side throw outs.

3 Comments

Filed under Beaux-peep

3 responses to “From waste to art

  1. Louise Gray

    Well done Jo….I’m so proud of you!

  2. Marg

    Takes me back to the day you came to visit and took my bag of lemons from the tree and put them in a big glass vase and made a statement. Your visits always left my house looking more styley than when you arrived! xx

  3. Sharon

    You are an inspiration to all us mortals – and so very creative….. Sharon, Akld NZ

Leave a Reply

