Friands


Beaux- tie ( a recipe )


This is a ” lethal” recipe. Nothing healthy. Purely indulgent and sooooo delicious. It’s expensive and fattening. But oh so good.


Just made a dozen this morning and can you believe it: it’s got TEN egg whites in it!!!!
These babies look so gorgeous all tied up with ribbons or twine. And they taste even better served with lashings of fresh cream and strawberries.


I got this recipe in new Zealand from my sisters friend, who got it from a lady who used to have an old French nanny. It’s authentic, old school French.
I have since seen similar recipes in gourmet magazines, but when I got it ten years ago no one was making them at home. And you could buy a friand in a cafe for up to $4.50 each and they never taste this good.


Before getting dressed for school, my girls and I made these. Here’s the recipe:

5 egg whites
2 cups icing sugar
1/2 cup flour
180g melted butter
1 cup almond meal
Vanilla essence
Strawberries


You can see this recipe is looking worse for wear in my old recipe book ( above). I doubled the recipe which makes about 20.
I threw in some chunks of chocolate too. I used an egg separator which made it easier.


Preferably you need a friand pan, which is deeper than a muffin pan and oval shape not round.
As I said – this is pure indulgence and works out expensive. But still about $1 each instead $4+ each in the cafes if you buy one.

Throw all ingredients into a large bowl and mix. Then scoop portions into the friand pan. I line my pan with baking paper first so they won’t stick. Or you can spray with non stick spray.


I placed fresh strawberries in each raw friand. Tinned berries also work well or just chocolate chips.
Bake at 180 in oven until golden brown.
Serve warm with a nice cuppa.
Hmmmmmm
You will love this. I promise.
Let me know how it goes.

5 Comments

Filed under Beaux-tie

5 responses to “Friands

  1. Please tell me how you have time to bake before school! They look delicious 🙂

  2. Julie

    Preschool staff were the lucky recipients of some of these friands and they were absolutely yummy!

  3. Claire

    hi beautiful,
    hope you’re bringing some up to the farm tomorrow ! 😉 they look yummy.
    see you then.
    it’s gonna be wet, bring gum boots and rain coats if you want to go for a walk.
    claire x

  4. Marg

    Oh I can TOTALLY vouch for these being tasty. It’s been about 6 years since I’ve had one of Jo’s amazing friends but I do in fact think of them often. Can you send a care package to England?

  5. Marg

    Oops. Spell check doesn’t like friands and changed it to friends!

Leave a Reply

