Revamp a lamp



Beaux – quet ( craft project)

I so enjoyed revamping this lamp. But I know this is not everyone’s cup of tea. I’ve had mixed reactions from friends and family when seeing this ‘new’ lamp of mine. You either hate it or love it.

Basically it was an old lamp found in the garage of a deceased estate in Lane Cove. Friends of mine bought the house and found this very old retro lamp in the garage and were throwing it out. I put my hand up for it and decided to give it a revamp.


I bought beads and ribbon and fringing and of course my good old favourite Vogue clothes pattern.
Firstly I cut a piece of fabric to fit around the lamp. I painted gel medium onto the fabric with a big brush and placed the Vogue tissue paper pattern onto the piece of fabric and folded it around the edges.


The gel medium fuses with the fabric and the tissue paper and makes it almost like stiff plastic. It’s wonderful stuff.


It sets clear when fully dry and I used a hair dryer to help speed this up. Then I stuck decorations on with PVA glue.


Next I used circle shapes ( like drinking glasses, saucepan lids etc) to draw and then to cut out decorations. As well as paper doilies and wall papers etc etc.


I found little paper owls for $1 each and glued these on as well as a few stamps and pieces of fabric. Paper owls available from pulp paper in Sydney Rd, Balgowlah.


When all this was dry I got out fishing line and a needle and stitched beads along the bottom of the lamp. I also placed the fabric around the old lamp shade and stitched it on with the fishing line too.


Next I glued olive green polka dot ribbon to top and bottom edges of the lamp.


The red fringing was the final stage. I attached this with masking tape from the inside edge of the lamp so the fringe hangs behind the beads. I’m sure there is a more glam way of doing this, but by this stage I so just wanted to switch the lamp on and see it finished.


The fringing doesn’t sit quite straight. So I did try and straighten it.


Yes – with a GHD hair straightener. And it DOES NOT work. My husband came in and took this photo of me on my creative mission!!!


This picture is of me cracking up at how stupid I looked and me laughing at him laughing
at me. It was a funny moment ( guess you had to be there).
So anyway…. The fringing remains a little wonkey. But I do love my new revamped lamp.


Two more things I found on the road side lately- this lovely old vintage chair and this fabric stencil lamp top.
Chair will be re-covered when I can afford it ( in cherry red and white polka dots with white buttons and wood painted white or red ) and the stencil lamp top fits nicely inside my lamp so when I switch it on, beautiful floral patterns appear on the ceiling.


Revamping lamps is a bit of a timely process. I enjoyed it, but I can now see why shops charge $300 for a new lamp shade.
“Armchair Collective” is a delightful new cafe in Mona Vale, Sydney ( Darley St) near the beach. It is full of revamped old vintage chairs and lamp shades. I highly recommend a visit there for inspiration on revamping your lamps and chairs.
Great food and coffee. Expensive lamp shades.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beaux-quet

Leave a Reply

