Transforming old tables


Beaux- peep ( interior styling tips)

I looked at my coffee table in my lounge and thought it really needed a revamp or a replacement.
Then I opened some catalouges that arrived in the mail and saw all the new stylish coffee tables available ….. And the price tags. Especially the ones I really liked. My mum always said of me ( right from when I was young) ” Jo, you have champagne taste with beer money!!”. True. I do.
So when I told my husband the price of a new coffee table – it was a no go zone, especially since our car service just cost over $2000. New clutch etc etc. Ouchhhhh.

This got me thinking how I could spruce up the coffee table I have already for much cheaper.
I remembered seeing this pic in a magazine recently.


I like the idea of glass over an old table with cloth or wallpaper underneath. It can be a constantly changing canvas. Nice.
I got out my very old T-Square and measured the coffee table and ordered a piece of glass.
My dads old words ringing in my ears “measure twice, cut once!”.
I dismissed these in my flurry of creativity.
Later, I went to pick the cut glass up, with beautiful sand blasted edges ( for safety: a must).
Laid lovely wallpaper down on the surface of my old coffee table and can you believe it…… The glass was the wrong size.!!!!

I was fuming and kicking myself for not measuring twice.
This morning the oven was on and I was up baking banana bread for breakfast.
As I took it out the oven a thought crossed my mind – I wonder if I could bribe the guys from the glass cutting factory to recut my glass for free and trade with a fresh loaf of warm vanilla banana bread.
I went there and the smell alone won them over.
This old Ozzie chap in stubbies came out to the car and said, “did you really bake that @@@$$# cake right now? We”ll cut the glass for free and sand blast it and do it all now while you wait in your car… Any time you want glass cut, please stuff it up again and then we can recut it and get another
cake.”

Not being an Ozzie myself, the strong Australian accent and the scenario was just like a scene from the classic Australian movie “The Castle”.


The glass and wallpaper transforms this table.


Before and after…


Our outside table was a sad state too. Another council clean up score at the end of the street where we live. So we carried it up the hill and home.
I found these red wave chairs on sale for $10 EACH.
The shop assistant didn’t know how much they were till she scanned them. Then she said “Oh no!!! Only $10 each. I wish I’d known that, I would have bought them myself. ”
I said “No, no. I’ll take every one you have in the store thanks.”


I popped a $5 table cloth on and got some red stone balls to decorate with. I found a beautiful big linen umbrella at a garage sale for $20. This is another transformed table.

As most of my blog readers know – I love chairs. I bought 9 of those red wave chairs. Every last one in the shop. So we have them outside around the outdoor table ( as seen above) and inside around our dining table. ( below).

1 Comment

Filed under Beaux-peep

One response to “Transforming old tables

  1. Louise Gray

    Jo, I love your story of the cake and the glass cutting. I remember watching the Castle with you guys. What a hoot!
    Love you, keep up your blogs, I LOVE them…

    Planning to do some painting with A & J during the next hols whilst Col’s in Thailand… Big surprise when he gets back to a transformed lounge 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration. Love you my friend ***

Leave a Reply

