Covering with fabrics


Beaux- peep ( decorating)


Alot of things around the house can be covered with a bit of fabric and given a new lease of life.
For example , I had this broken wooded screen full of holes.
I decided to cover it with fabric and use it as a room divider.


Firstly I got fabric from ikea and upholstry tacks from Bunnings.


Then cut the fabric to size and ironed a hem around all the edges.


Next it was a matter of dividing the tacks between how many sides I had and ” doing the maths”.


Hammering them into the wood and keeping fabric tight on all edges.
The best way is to do all four corners first .And then the inbetween ones.


I’m stoked with how smart it turned out. Especially as I got the screen for $5 and I priced room dividers and they start at $120 and soar from there.


Next project is to recover this chair with fabric. I bought this hesian fabric for $9 per m.


It has such a lovely texture. Spotlight has fantastic upholstry fabrics which are very well priced.


This is the chair I’m going to cover. A road side throw out. Not sure if I’ll do it myself or get it done by an upholsterer. But the point of the blog is – recover and give it a new look. A new chair like this would be very expensive.


I found this old chair left in an unused storage room in an industrial building where I used to rent an art studio.
There is alot I could do with this chair. But to professionally reupholster this baby :the quote from three separate upholsterers is $1000.
So for now…. I’ll put some fabric on it and a cushion and give it a revamp.


I just used some old pillows to make the cushion and tucked in the fabric around the edges.

Lastly – I used wrapping paper and bits of fabric to recover this canvas. I hand painted the big black polka dots and stuck the rest on with spray glue.


It’s so much fun to revamp things and give your space a new look without spending alot of money.
Happy crafting everyone.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beaux-peep

Leave a Reply

